Deliverance, Relationship, transformation, women
Leave a Comment

“I WILL Restore You”, says the Lord.

sept_feature_02_hHave you ever done some things that you have completely regretted; a poor decision that left you feeling shame and maybe some guilt as well? How about years and years of difficult issues that had been created because of one or several poor decisions? I know that I have! Aren’t you glad that God is one of restoration? In fact, He has a promise to repay and restore to us all of what the years have taken from us. Let’s take a look at Joel Chapter 2.

Joel 2:25 

“I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten—
    the great locust and the young locust,
    the other locusts and the locust swarm—
my great army that I sent among you.”

What an awesome promise! What we sometimes fail to look at, though, is what comes before the promise. You see, there is a covenant condition that God had given to Israel and also to us when we seek out restoration. Let’s back up to verses 12 and 13.

Joel 2:12-13

“Even now,” declares the Lord,
    “return to me with all your heart,
    with fasting and weeping and mourning.”

Although this chapter in Scripture has to do with Bible history, as well as prophesy, it reveals the nature of our God and how He dealt with Israel. He deals with us in the same way because His nature never changes. I, personally, am so happy about that! A relationship with God through Christ does not promise our lives will be perfect, but it does give us the assurance that we will have all we need when going through a trial. Our love relationship with our mighty King who laid down His life for us makes life easier in and of itself. Have you ever noticed when you are “in love” the world could change its axis and you will not even bat an eye? Nothing moves us when we are in that “in love” state!

 Rend your heart
    and not your garments.
Return to the Lord your God,
    for he is gracious and compassionate,
slow to anger and abounding in love,
    and he relents from sending calamity.”

God requires repentance and a contrite heart before Him. He asks for dedication. Notice He mentions fasting with weeping and mourning. He does not like to see His people go through difficulty and trial. He loves restoration, but what He wants more than anything is our relationship with Him to be restored. It’s our choice, and He likes it that way. Would you want someone to love you because you require it or because someone desires to? Of course its because someone truly wants to! God is the very same way. He wants our love, dedication, relationship, and repentance. In return He promises to restore “the years” that were destroyed.

Joel 2:25 

“I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten—
    the great locust and the young locust,
    the other locusts and the locust swarm—
my great army that I sent among you.”

You know, I had to wonder why God had to mention so many different locust situations. It’s not one of those real deep theological questions, but I am so curious that I just had to know! So, I questioned God about it. Have you ever felt like you have been swarmed by so many situations that hit all at once? I think I can identify some of the locust situations in my life. Here are some examples for you:

  1. The great locust had to be that huge financial situation I went through when I unexpectedly found myself going through divorce. I mean, I lost everything one thing at a time. I slowly had to let go of my home, my business, my ministry, my marriage, and all of the financial security I had lived in.
  2. The young locust must have been something new that came into my life, like a new relationship that really did not work out because it was not God’s best for me, yet it made me grieve because of the deep desire to be restored in a permanent commitment.
  3. How about the other locusts? Boy, I can think of so many other things that hit me when I was down just to keep me off kilter. There were issues with my kids, life’s little dramas and you name it!
  4. Then there was the locust swarm! Ever have that day that had to be sent from hell where everything seemed to go wrong and happened all at once? Welcome to the locust swarm!

Now, I know this is a lot of revelation about my life, which I don’t mind, but I think you might understand the examples of what many locusts might look like. Lets get to the point. God wants to restore you from those things to a point where your very years are restored. His desire is that you suffer shame no more. We were not born for shame but for right standing with God. He wants that right standing for you and promises to give it to you. Being restored to God has great rewards! Even more than His restoration of years and of all you have had but He will pour out His Spirit as well! Look up Joel 2:28-32!

His restoration is so complete. He promises to restore grain, new wine, and olive oil (Joel 2:19)! The restoration of grain is material and financial blessing. New wine is joy, gladness, and fulfillment. New olive oil represents a fresh anointing! All of these things are so completely appealing but they are not the things we should seek, they are the things restored from seeking God.

I pray that God will restore you today, and that you will lay down all of your pain, your issues, your trials and your pride. Lay them all at the feet of our Jesus who sits at the right hand of the Father. He is ready to meet you at the throne of grace! We have Jesus as our great restorer of the breach between us and our heavenly Father. He is our intercessor, our redeemer, and our new coming King!
Pastor Jenine Marie Howry
800-421-1765 for prayer
Leave a Reply

