Abuse, Deliverance, empowerment, faith, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, prayer, transformation
Leave a Comment

Learning to Live Again After Abuse: Emotional Release and Deliverance

downloadRomans 6:4 

“We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.”

In days gone by I remember a morning I woke up and wondered, “How in the world did I get here, and even more important, how do I get out?” Life had come to a point where every single day was a strain being married to someone who oppressed, never had a good thing to say about me or to me, and controlled literally everything through intimidation. He was an addictive person, a narcissist, and showed sociopath tendencies. Life was hell on earth. As the years went by, I had five beautiful children, who were always the light of my life. It wasn’t easy, doing the cycle of abuse dance while making sure the kids had what they needed. (Before you ask me why I had kids with this man, please become more knowledgeable about the abuse cycle. People put their best foot forward in the beginning of a relationship, especially a narcissist. Life could be like a bed of roses for a period of time and then suddenly change in a heartbeat. As time goes on a person develops what psychology calls “learned helplessness”. Its like a slow indoctrination into someone else’s agenda. We have no idea what is happening until it is too late).

I’m thankful that God is gracious, a delivering God, and one who is intimately involved in our lives. I did receive deliverance out of that situation but the healing part of it was only just beginning. How does one erase years and years of character assassination, demeaning comments, threatening proclamations, and a life of fear and anxiety? The physical release was even harder because an abused person goes into the world and everything seems difficult and fearful. Its like the abuse robs us of our ability to function the way we did before the relationship. Everyone around becomes suspect and a possible threat to our livelihood. So, in the beginning we travel a lot of it alone, not trusting a single soul to help us survive.

The better part is that I personally had to learn how to lean on God for all I needed. I struggled, but I also saw some life changing miracles during those times. His protection is uncompromising and His love beyond anything a person could measure. It was during those days that I found Him and He was always in our midst. The longer and harder part of the freedom journey was the healing of the heart and renewing of the mind. I learned that it takes work and a lot of faith and consistency. It takes desire. A person has to want to be healed and free for it to happen. I was free on the outside, but the inside was just as captive as when I was in the marriage. Then it takes deliverance. Being in the presence of my Savior has always been the regenerating, healing, and strengthening process that brought the freedom I required to pull my life together.

The process has to be this way. I learned there are no shortcuts. One could go and receive deliverance ministry all day long but if the inner wounds are not dealt with first than deliverance is futile and the effects are temporary. The dark side of life will always attach itself to our inner wounds because that is where we are the most weak and can be rendered ineffective and incapacitated. Healing the inside first is critical for full freedom and deliverance from the effects of abuse. Like Pastor Paula White has always said, “You can’t correct what you don’t confront.” Then once that process is complete, the dark forces in life are weakened and can be cast away in the presence of Jesus and with His authority.

This can certainly be done on one’s own, but I don’t recommend it. A process of talking, praying, and releasing  is the first thing I recommend for a full and complete deliverance. Otherwise the old attacks keep coming back to make life miserable. Like I said, it takes work and preferably  with someone who knows how to get you where you want to be; delivered and free!

The next phase is the spiritual deliverance part. This can also be very intense but extremely effective. Believe me, when it is done right, there is nothing like a spiritual deliverance from the  enemy who bound you in the first place. He wants to keep you bound, but there is no match for Jesus’ power! A good deliverance minister who has been there is the best choice to facilitate this part of the process. You could go to God yourself but there is more power when two gather together in the midst of Holy Spirit. Not to mention there is protection and strength together.

The final part of the process is commitment to renewing your mind through the Word of God. For me personally, I had years of reprogramming to do and still need to do that work on a regular basis and as an ongoing lifestyle. Remaining in God’s presence is crucial in this part of the process as well.

It can seem like a long road to recovery but it is one that has been well worth it for me and it will for you too! If you have been affected by another person’s abuse, consider emotional healing and deliverance ministry. God wants you free even more than you desire it yourself. He is waiting for you to want to receive this healing work. Jesus died for your liberty! That is good news! You have a future and a hope just as I have always had. God has been faithful through my whole journey and He will for you too!

If you need emotional healing and deliverance help from the affects of someone else’s abuse, please consider connecting with me! If not me, than please consider someone who is recommended and gifted for this type of work. There is no reason to live bound! You will have no idea just how much holds you back until you start the process. Liberty is complete in Jesus Christ!  Remember that you were buried with Christ through baptism and faith. Now you are also raised with Him and sit in high places as you place your trust in Him! 

As for my services and Pastoral Care, Emotional and Deliverance Ministry, they are free to those who need them. I only ask for a donation toward my time if that is possible. God’s gift of freedom is just that; a gift. Yet, He also wants to make sure I receive what I need to survive as a minister and a Pastor.

I do not provide this work as a replacement for the local church, but I in fact, stand beside “her”, working toward a more healthy, whole, and liberated Body of Christ! It can be intense work, but it is always worth it! —

If you would like more information, please call me at 800-421-1765. It takes someone who knows the bumpy road to guide others toward the streets of gold!

Here’s to freedom!

Pastor Jenine Marie Howry

Jenine Marie Coaching and Ministries 

 

 

Leave a Reply

