empowerment, God, Motivation, transformation
Comments 3

Renewing the Mind Into the New Year!

jeninemariecoachingWhen I think of renewing the mind, my sense of humor wants to see my brain all dusty and filled with cobwebs ready to be swept away. It’s not a bad visual actually. We all have old stuff in there. I sure know that I do! It usually likes to come out when I lay down to sleep at night and I’m not quite sleepy enough to drift off yet. Once I allow all that junk to come alive at night, that’s pretty much it for sleeping! Maybe if I toss and turn enough I will get the dust to come out my ears or something? I’m pretty sure that does not work.

Renewing the mind is something I used to struggle with because in order to do it, I have to DO something! I don’t think I’m particularly lazy but it is so easy to talk myself out of doing something when I think there is a more appealing option in front of me. It takes work and in order for the renewal to be effective. It’s all about conditioning just like training to work out or run a marathon.

Romans 12:12 

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

1 Corinthians 9:24 

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.”

Renewing the mind with God’s word has its definite  rewards, like:

  1. We shall know, not only His perfect will, but His PLEASING will
  2. We can use God’s ways to test our decisions and direction
  3. We become conditioned according to our continual practice of renewal
  4. We are counted as diligent by God.
  5. We can be blessed by obtaining “the prize”! Whatever God’s blessing is for our actions, we have His promise for it! Complete guarantee!

If you don’t have a ritual of spending time in God’s word, you won’t know or understand God’s ways and His desires for your life. Renewing of the mind by the word of God also gives healing to the heart and a positive direction to life. Learning to know and trust God is a huge blessing in life. When you get to understand the nature of the King who laid down His life for you, there is no stopping you in life. His love is overwhelming and I promise you will be captivated by Him in ways you never expected!

Dear Jesus, give me the diligence to stay focused on renewing my mind by Your word daily. I want a blessed life. I realize I must work at renewing my mind. I know You are pleased with me and will guide my way as I draw closer to You! Thank You for the faithfulness of Your word and Your Holy Spirit, amen!

God bless you in the coming New Year and your renewal process!

Pastor Jenine Marie Howry

Jenine Marie Coaching and Ministries

For confidential prayer 800-421-1765 (Please leave a message if no answer. Your message is confidential)

 

3 Comments

  1. Donna Bonini says

    This is s great reminder for as the year winds to an end to make a new commitment for 2017 to dive into a daily reading of God’s Word!

    And you are right about shaking the dust out of your brain; it doesn’t come out your ears – I tried lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

