Featured, Health and Wellness
Comments 2

Health Benefits of Coconut Oil

coconut_oilOne of the most significant ways a woman can empower herself is to remain healthy. Working on a healthy lifestyle is an every day thing from the beginning of life through the rest of our lives. We can be as empowering as possible but if we don’t guard our health what good is it? Part of living an empowered life is to live a healthy one.

One of the most beneficial things I have found to add to my own daily diet is coconut oil! After having gone through at least a year of struggling with health issues, I have been led down the path of researching things that would help me to feel better, have more energy, become sick less, and to improve body function. I discovered a good well oiled body on the inside makes it function better and to remain healthier.

Coconut oil has been an amazing discovery for me! I am talking about the kind that is virgin organic oil made for cooking and ingesting. (There are other forms of coconut oil which are used externally. To find the right one, please consult the label and make sure it says virgin organic and suitable for cooking). I discovered its value while researching what would be the best solution for resolving constipation and also to cleanse out bacterial invasions. I had gone through at least 2 recent 10 week rounds of antibiotics and also a steroid to help inflammation of my sinus area. For the last year I have had to be on antibiotics at least 5 times. Believe me, that is 5 times more than usual. I basically never had become this sick this often. I don’t think I had ever become so frustration in my life.

I read many articles on the benefits of coconut oil and discovered it has many! Not only is it a natural antibiotic, but it is a much needed saturated fat. Unlike many myths, saturated fats do not automatically clog our arteries. In fact, there are 3 major things we always need  for proper elimination. They are water, fiber, and fat! If we don’t have those 3 things regularly in our diets we become clogged and toxins stay in our bodies. Your body was created to consume food that gives it nutrients and then it moves on through it and out. When this does not happen you can become very ill from the build up of toxins and waste from the food you eat. Some ill effects can be weakness, headaches, infections, etc.

Everyone is different, but I have found that 1-2 tablespoons of virgin organic coconut oil per day is enough to flush things through properly. Of course, we can’t forget the water and fiber. I had to experiment to discover the right amount for me. I ingest 1 tablespoon at breakfast in a protein shake and then 1 tablespoon at night in another type of food. The good thing about coconut oil is it can be used to cook with.  I discovered that ordinary cut up fried potatoes is amazingly good when fried in coconut oil! It gives them a sweet taste along with adding a bit of salt. Its also great for stir frying veggies and other things as well.

Some of the ways I use it now are:

In a protein shake

To fry veggies

By the tablespoon in an emergency

Added to syrup for pancakes and waffles

Added to peanut butter and spread on toast

Small amount in a cup of green tea with a teaspoon of honey

Mixed into a bowl of cooked oatmeal

You can come up with your own as you experiment! There are other benefits to using this amazing oil and you can find some of them in one of the the article’s I found online 10 Proven Health Benefits of Coconut Oil . Please do your own research. You will be so glad you did!

Healthfully Yours,

Pastor Jenine Marie Howry

Jenine Marie Coaching

** I am not a health professional. My written information is based on personal experience and research only.

**Image credit: Wikipedia.org

 

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: The Magic of Magnesium | The Power of a Confident Woman

  2. Pingback: Did You Know How Coconut Oil Can Kill Mouth Bacteria? Here are the Benefits! | The Power of a Confident Woman

Leave a Reply

